In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful


The Definition of Faith in Islam.

وَ مَعْلُوْمٌ اَنَّ الْاِیْمَانَ ھُوَ الْاِقْرَارُ لَا مُجَرَّدُالتَّصْدِیْقِ وَالْاِقْرَارُ ضِمْنَ قَوْلِ الْقَلْبِ الَّذِیْ ھُوَالتَّصْدِیْقُ وَعَمَلِ الْقَلْبِ الَّذِیْ ھُوَ الْاِنْقِیَادُ


“It is understood that faith is affirmation and not merely belief. Affirmation includes the words of the heart, which is belief, and the actions of the heart, which is compliance.”

Hence, faith in Islam means to believe in Allah, to affirm His truth, and to submit to His commands. The six pillars of faith are to believe and affirm the following.

  1. Allah
  2. His angels
  3. His messengers
  4. His books
  5. The Day of Judgment
  6. Providence.



Allah Said in the Holy Quran:

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا آمِنُوا بِاللَّـهِ وَرَسُولِهِ وَالْكِتَابِ الَّذِي نَزَّلَ عَلَىٰ رَسُولِهِ وَالْكِتَابِ الَّذِي أَنزَلَ مِن قَبْلُ ۚ وَمَن يَكْفُرْ بِاللَّـهِ وَمَلَائِكَتِهِ وَكُتُبِهِ وَرُسُلِهِ وَالْيَوْمِ الْآخِرِ فَقَدْ ضَلَّ ضَلَالًا بَعِيدًا

O you who believe, have faith in Allah and His messenger and the book that He revealed to His messenger and the scripture which He revealed before. Whoever disbelieves in Allah, His angels, His books, His messengers, and the Last Day has certainly gone far astray.

Surah An-Nisaa 4 , verse 136